Adam Hillis
1 min readAug 20, 2018

--

Based on your description, I believe my brother walked through stage 4 a few years ago. From my experience, that stage seems relatively common for people in college, or coming out of college, as was the case with my brother.

My mom was talking to one of my brother’s best friends about it; amongst other concerns she had for her son. My brother’s friend’s response has stuck with me.

She said, “He is exactly where he needs to be.”

There was something so truthful and calming in that simple phrase about my brother. I clung to it as I watched him make choices I knew could potentially hurt later in life, and I loved him unconditionally when he came to me for advice.

I’m not sure what stage my brother is in right now, but I know it isn’t stage 4, and I know he’s doing well. He’s exactly where he’s supposed to be.

I think you’re exactly where you’re supposed to be too.

--

--

Adam Hillis

Crafting educational email courses for coach/creators || Coaching men to connect w/ their wife & kids, and themselves || I juggle marriage, kids, and words